

## News Release

## 2018 IOWA FFA CONDUCT OF MEETINGS CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

90th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Conduct of Meetings Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 23, 2018. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place chapter for the event was the Montezuma FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms. Lindsey Schanbacher. The second place chapter for the event was the Brokaw FFA Chapter at Clarinda. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Andrew Johnson.

Teams participating in this event were composed of seven members organized to act out the duties of an officer team. Teams were required to perform opening ceremonies, demonstrate two parliamentary procedure abilities, and successfully close a meeting. This event aids in the development of leadership abilities of young members for present and future chapter activities. The Iowa FFA Conduct of Meetings CDE was made possible with support from Beck's Hybrids through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Conduct of Meetings CDE are listed below.

###

## About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 15,300 student members as part of 235 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place	e FFA Member Name(s)	Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Elise Boulton, Kailey Jones, Michael Dejong, Ashlyn Huff,	Montezuma	Gold
	Brayden Stockman, Dylan Holland, and Alyssa Cline		
2	Lanie Garrett, Tanley Bebout, Ryane Stipe, Anna Degroot,	Clarinda	Gold
	Kristen Smith, Jalyn Sharr, and Madelyn Pulliam		
3	Hannah Grieme, Viv Leonard, Jack Henderson, Paige	Holstein	Gold
	Padavich, Kole Winkel, Rayann Volkert, and Gary Baughn		

## **Iowa FFA Association -- 2**

A FFA ASSOCIATION 2		
Chancellor Thrasher, Isabel Morrison, Austin Elizalde, Emily Bierman, Averi Goodale, Janey Gingerich, and Brielle Page	West Liberty	Gold
Caleb Christensen, Elly Louwagie, Hunter Anderson, Carter Casey, Nicholas Brown, Jace Jennings, and Joanna Fullerton	Algona	Silver
Madison Vorm, Johanna Sauers, Joel Klocke, Ethan Klocke, Alisha Petersen, Clayton Morgan, and Matthew Brinkman	Audubon	Silver
Drew Staudt, Kiki Connell, Joseph Nettleton, Gillian Anderson, Sarah Mitchell, Evan Bjelica, and Justin Heyer	Charles City	Silver
Morgan Peak, Becca Patten, Jenna Tuttle, Kaia Hoffmann, Jack Nickel, Zachary Fillmore, and Jared Nickel	Grinnell	Silver
Nicholas Edwards, Grace Hill, Carla Edleman, Isabelle Ramer, Jack Chism, Jenna Hernandez, and Carson Finch	Huxley	Silver
Justin Rupnow, Coen Herrig, Izabelle Rodman, Cj Frank, Carly Tegels, Abby Scott, and Joe Langbein	Lake View	Silver
Ethan Rollinger, Julia Shultis, Carly Williams, Alesha Brunssen, Emma Arnold, Eli Powers, and Kailey Bahmann	Vinton	Silver
Callie Petersen, Taylor Bahnsen, Shianne Rockwell, Kirstin Schaefer, Koree Miller, Kole Michaud, and Carson Hunter	Wyoming	Bronze